Thursday, July 5, 2012

The 3rd 4th and hopefully not the 5th of July


I’m officially too old to enjoy DIY fireworks. 

I have no problem with fireworks put on by professionals, as long as I’m not directly paying for them. Indirect taxation from the city is fine by me.

I think I get this from my dad who was never a fan of fireworks.  He always had a stick in his craw about them being “dangerous and too expensive”.  As a kid I thought that is how every dad was but as I got older I realized it wasn’t. 

However, at my current age I couldn’t agree with him more, you might say I have a whole lumberyard in my craw.

If you don’t know what a craw is its insect and bird related and if I were either an insect or bird mine would contain sticks. 

Continuing on…..

We apparently live right by the beach where everyone in Kodiak comes to let off their DIY fireworks, pipe bombs and other homemade explosives.  Keep in mind that it doesn’t get dark enough to light fireworks in Kodiak until approximately 12am.  We have the pleasure of sporadic fireworks from about 9pm until 1:30am. 

I thought it was the price of the fireworks that I hate, but I’m not buying any of these I just have to listen to the windows rattle when they are set off…..at 1:30am.

Incase you are wondering these fireworks are not the ones that go boom and make pretty colors; they just go BOOM!

My other firework related irritation is children under the age of 21 setting off fireworks. I know someone who now has the luxury of a glass eye due to fireworks.  I don’t want the same luxury and can’t stand children lighting fireworks from the campfire I am trying to enjoy.  I am a big kid so I move away from the fire, because you can’t explain to children they shouldn’t light fireworks right next to your head and they have no appreciation of expensive water proof clothing that lack holes.

Eventually these same kids follow you to your new destination and you have to pretty much leave the party if you want to keep your eyes and clothes in tact.

I’m done, I thought this was give me some relief but I’m getting irritated all over again.

I can’t wait to see how many patriots storm the beach tonight.

2 comments:

  1. I was laying on my couch around noon this afternoon past, dozing in a quiet house after a night of inlaws and partying too hard with games. So, I'm dozing, and dreaming of these pimply barnacles with leaves GROWING OUT OF MY KNEES, OKAY!, so I'm really weirded out when I am jolted awake. The cats are starting at me like the world is about to end, and I stay extra quiet in case the axe murderer has come to finish me off.

    Oh, no. It was just the idiot neighbors lighting fire crackers. At noon. I foudn this out becuase I about crapped myself when it happened again 30 seconds later.

    ReplyDelete
  2. We're getting old, and I like it!

    ReplyDelete